3 Concerti

Centrediscs / Centredisques
CMCCD 15610

Pianist Christina Petrowska Quilico, long a champion of the music of contemporary composers, particularly those of her native Canada, performs works by three Canadian women composers for piano and orchestra, in 3 Concerti, a new Centrediscs release from the Canadian Music Centre.

The new CD features compositions by Alexina Louie, Larysa Kuzmenko and Violet Archer (1913-2000). They were recorded for broadcast by CBC Radio over the past two decades

3 Concerti marks Petrowska Quilico's 23rd CD, and seventh on the Centrediscs label.

The CD features the following, all with Petrowska Quilico as piano soloist:

Alexina Louie: Concerto for Piano and Orchestra (1984) with the National Arts Centre Orchestra conducted by Alex Pauk.

Violet Archer: Concerto No.1 for Piano and Orchestra (1956) with the CBC Vancouver Orchestra conducted by John Eliot Gardiner.

Larysa Kuzmenko: Piano Concerto (1995, rev. 1996) with the Toronto Symphony Orchestra conducted by Jukka-Pekka Saraste.

1-3. Concerto for piano and orchestra

4-6. Concerto No. 1 for piano and orchestra

7-9. Piano Concerto

4 stars
“4 stars….the concerto by Kuzmenko astonishes by her energy and her virtuosity. This live recording is of stunning quality and does justice to the composers and interpreters. This beautiful disc will please lovers of piano in search of new repertoire.”

– La Scena Musicale (scena.org)
Flamboyantly virtuosic
“Pianist Christina Petrowska Quilico is the soloist on 3 Concerti, a disc which serves to remind us that there is a grand tradition of concerto writing in this country and begs the question – why are they so rarely played? Of the three, Louie’s is the most exotic…the work is a skilful and exuberant blending of East and West. Petrowska Quilico is in fine form with the National Arts Orchestra, under Alex Pauk….Kuzmenko is an unabashed Romantic whose model seems to be Rachmaninov, although here too I sense the influence of Bartok. The work is flamboyantly virtuosic and Petrowska Quilico takes full advantage of the opportunity to rise to the occasion. It is a well-crafted, dramatic work that would be well at home on any mainstream orchestral concert and, like others on this disc, deserves to be heard more often.”

– David Olds, Whole Note/ Editors Corner (www.thewholenote.com)
Vivid brio
Christina Petrowska Quilico plays all of this music with vivid brio, always finding a lucid textural balance with the orchestra. Her rock-steady rhythmic pulse and palpable enthusiasm seem to beg the listener to pay attention to the music, as if to say that none of this deserves obscurity.”

– Peter Burwasser, Fanfare Magazine (www.fanfaremag.com)
“I review another of Quilico’s Centrediscs releases in this issue (Ann Southam’s Pond Life), and what I wrote there about her attention to tonal color also applies here. These three concertos also allow her to show off her pianistic muscles, however, and she has plenty to show off. Her playing is as tough and assertive as the repertoire. This is a fine addition to her discography, and I hope we will continue to hear much more from this pianist-in both familiar and unfamiliar repertoire-in coming years. Recommended!”

– Raymond Tuttle, Fanfare Magazine (www.fanfaremag.com)
MusicWeb International
"A big hurrah for this disk...This issue is essential listening for anyone interested in new music."

- Bob Briggs, MusicWeb International
July 2010